Don Quixote and other musings

A word on DQ: Is it me, or are Don Quixote and Sancho the Laurel and Hardy of literature. Talk about slapstick! Well, folks, that is my erudite reading of DQ. At least, for a Monday. And this observation: For being so famous, the windmill scene was surprisingly short.

Summer Solstice Reading: Another month gone by? Time: It’s an outrage. Yes, indeed, the clock ran out on May 2007, and we are already 4 days into June. I slated June as the ubiquitous “Summer Solstice Reading” month, which means I can pretty much read what I want to, preferably anything of substantial length. Don Quixote certainly fills that quota, and I have other books I am longing to begin. (Apparently, I’m in good company; check out The New York Times’ survey of reading recommendations by writers. Note that Michael Crichton apparently is doing research for a global-warming thriller.)

God, I long for the days of school vacation, when summers lived like years.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don Quixote and other musings

  1. iliana says:

    That’s exactly what I thought about the Windmill scene! I just read that this weekend. I’m just trying to figure out what’s going to happen in the rest of the hundreds of pages I have left. ha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

