Investigating Nancy Drew

Maybe it’s just because I have the TBR Girl Sleuth: Nancy Drew and the Woman Who Created Her, but take a look at what are purported to be Nancy Drew dolls from Madame Alexander (circa 1967):

Tell me: Don’t they look more like a funked-up version of a Ladybird Johnson collection than our Titian-haired detective? These gals look like they couldn’t find their way to a nail salon, much less solve the secret of the old clock.

Now, this is more like it:

Geez, if I only knew this existed, I would have asked Santa for one of these instead of dumb old Parcheesi.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Investigating Nancy Drew

  1. iliana says:

    Those dolls look nothing like Nancy Drew! What were they thinking?

    Like

  2. Stefanie says:

    Those dolls don’t look like they could find their way out of a paper bag! Obviously the company that made them didn’t read the books.

    Like

  3. I still recall my first ND mystery: something like …The Secret in the Hollow Oak.

    Like

  4. The Message in the Hollow Oak–but I don’t recall what the message was.Maybe these are Dionne Quintuplet dolls. heh.

    Like

  5. Dorothy W. says:

    Those Nancy Drew dolls are absurd! But that book on Nancy Drew sounds interesting …

    Like

  6. Lesley says:

    Um, no, I don’t think so. They look like 1960s Mary Kay consultants.I still have a bunch of my old Nancy Drew books, those covers are classic.And I agree, that book does sound interesting!

    Like

  7. Kirsten says:

    Great post – I was a huge ND fan and have started collecting the set I read as a kid all over again. I comb every used book store/library sale I can to keep adding.

    Like

Leave a Reply

