Thoughts for Thursday – Kerouac speaks

From Jack Kerouac, Windblown World: The Journals of Jack Kerouac 1947-1954:

Another thought that helps a writer as he works along–let him write his novel “the way he’d like to see a novel written.” This helps a great deal freeing you from the fetters of self-doubt and the kind of self-mistrust that leads to over-revision, too much calculation, preoccupation with “what others would think.” Look at your own work and say, “This is a novel after my own heart!” Because that’s what it is anyway, and that’s the point–it’s worry that must be eliminated for the sake of individual force. In spite of all this insouciant advice, I myself advanced slowly today, but not poorly, working on the final draft of the chapter. I’m a little rusty. Oh and what a whole lot of bunk I could write this morning about my fear that I can’t write, I’m ignorant and worst of all, I’m an idiot trying to achieve something I can’t possibly do. It’s in the will, in the heart! To hell with these rotten doubts. I defy them and spit on them. Merde!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts for Thursday – Kerouac speaks

  1. Sheri says:

    I really enjoyed this. I have been meaning to leave a comment for a few days. I couldn’t agree more with his sentiments. Even as a “rookie’ blogger, while I’m proofing, I find myself wondering if I should censor some things to appease others, people who may or may not be reading. This is frustrating because I promised myself when I started my blog that it would be MINE and mine alone. The other day I used the F word and it was so liberating. This passage was a good reminder to stay true to your very own voice, your authentic voice, thats really what people want to hear anyways.

    Like

  2. LK says:

    I dropped the *f* bomb myself when I hit a low point. I am trying to blog without vulgarity. Just for the heck of it. Not that I’m against gratuitous vulgarity.This is a truly inspirational book. All about his writing. To me, it’s comforting to know the Great Ones faced the same fears and trepidations as a Mere Mortal Writer like moi.

    Like

Leave a Reply

